forever and always

Synopsis:

Ever,

These letters are often all that get me through week to week. Even if it’s just random stuff, nothing important, they’re important to me. Gramps is great, and I love working on the ranch. But…I’m lonely. I feel disconnected, like I’m no one, like I don’t belong anywhere. Like I’m just here until something else happens. I don’t even know what I want with my future. But your letters, they make me feel connected to something, to someone. I had a crush on you, when we first met. I thought you were beautiful. So beautiful. It was hard to think of anything else. Then camp ended and we never got together, and now all I have of you is these letters. S**t. I just told you I have a crush on you. HAD. Had a crush. Not sure what is anymore. A letter-crush? A literary love? That’s stupid. Sorry. I just have this rule with myself that I never throw away what I write and I always send it, so hopefully this doesn’t weird you out too much. I had a dream about you too. Same kind of thing. Us, in the darkness, together. Just us. And it was like you said, a memory turned into a dream, but a memory of something that’s never happened, but in the dream it felt so real, and it was more, I don’t even know, more RIGHT than anything I’ve ever felt, in life or in dreams. I wonder what it means that we both had the same dream about each other. Maybe nothing, maybe everything. You tell me.

Cade
~ ~ ~ ~

Cade,

We’re pen pals. Maybe that’s all we’ll ever be. I don’t know. If we met IRL (in real life, in case you’re not familiar with the term) what would happen? And just FYI, the term you used, a literary love? It was beautiful. So beautiful. That term means something, between us now. We are literary loves. Lovers? I do love you, in some strange way. Knowing about you, in these letters, knowing your hurt and your joys, it means something so important to me, that I just can’t describe. I need your art, and your letters, and your literary love. If we never have anything else between us, I need this. I do. Maybe this letter will only complicate things, but like you I have a rule that I never erase or throw away what I’ve written and I always send it, no matter what I write in the letter.

Your literary love,

Ever

My Review:

You know when you read one of those super-emotional, heart-breaking, gut-wrenching books? And you just want to get on your phone and call or text a friend about it, but then you just sit there, not knowing what to say, not knowing what words you could possibly use that would really make your friend understand? Not able to piece together words that would do the story justice, to make that friend know how raw you’re feeling… Yeah, that’s kinda how I’m feeling, writing this review for Forever & Always!

The whole way through the book, I was just in utter turmoil.

We meet Caden and Ever at aged 15, both attending a summer camp for gifted artists. We end book one of this series, five years later, when they are 20. And jeez, there’s a hell of a lot of heart-break and upset within those five years!

Caden and Ever leave summer camp as good friends, and living miles apart, decide to become pen-pals. Good, old fashioned, pen, paper and a stamp, pen-pals. The relationship that forms between them, within the letters, is truly beautiful. The content of a lot of the letters is mostly sad, emotional venting, but the comfort that each provides to the other, is just amazing to read.

I had a crush on you when we first met. I thought you were beautiful. So beautiful. It was hard to think of anything else. Then camp ended and we never got together, and now all I have of you is these letters.

Shit, I just told you I have a crush on you. HAD, Had a crush. Not sure what it is anymore. A letter-crush? A literary love?

Caden and Ever really feel like two halves of the same soul. They just fit. They have so much in common and share such deep pains and losses, yet they really draw strength from each other, even from so far apart!

Now, don’t get me wrong, Forever & Always is NOT all doom and gloom and 100% depressing! There are times that made grin, smile and laugh out loud. But just when you think things are on the up for Ever and Caden, inevitably the world just seems to tumble down around them.

I absolutely adored the pure, fresh, innocent relationship Caden and Ever shared. It’s sweet, it’s cute and it’s angsty. Everything letters between teenagers should be. But as they become older, as they grow into adults, the relationship changes. It’s intense, it’s loving, the letters aren’t as frequent, but they’re just as heart-felt and honest.

The chemistry between Caden and Ever is electric. Pure sizzle, as soon as they become re-acquainted. I’m saying no more than that though, you need to read it yourselves!

Through the ups and downs of Caden and Ever’s teenage years, something absolutely beautiful comes together. Jasinda Wilder really just paints pictures with her words. Breathtaking images from each scene would fill my head, constantly. I felt like I was there. I could see that painting of Caden in my mind. I did feel like I was a part of that shared dream. Just beautiful.

If you want to read something that really touches you, that pulls you in and won’t let you go, that has you aching and crying with each character as they face their battles, Forever & Always is definitely one for you to read!

4.5 stars!!!

Amazon UK Buy Link

Amazon.com Buy Link

Add To Your Goodreads Lists

