17836829

Synopsis:

Born into a life of privilege and secrets, Nora Blakely has everything any nineteen-year-old girl could desire. She’s an accomplished pianist, a Texas beauty queen, and on her way to Princeton after high school. She’s perfect…

Leaving behind her million-dollar mansion and Jimmy Choos, she becomes a girl hell-bent on pushing the limits with alcohol, drugs, and meaningless sex.

Then she meets her soulmate. But he doesn’t want her.

When it comes to girls, twenty-five-year-old Leo Tate has one rule: never fall in love. His gym and his brother are all he cares about…until he meets Nora. He resists the pull of their attraction, hung up on their six year age difference.

As they struggle to stay away from each other, secrets will be revealed, tempers will flare, and hearts will be broken.

Welcome to Briarcrest Academy…where sometimes, the best things in life are Very Bad Things.

My Review:

* I received a copy of this book, from the author, in exchange for an honest review. *

Ok, so some of you may have noticed that I’ve been in a bit of book funk recently! I have been pining away for something that would grab me from the very first chapter, suck me in deep, and completely close me off from the ‘real’ world. I’ve been wanting to read something that really makes me feel the characters. Something that will chew me up, and spit me out the other side, a different person. And let me tell you, Very Bad Things did all of that, and more, in spades!

I have to say, I LOVED Nora! I can sometimes be a little harsh on my leading ladies and heroines, but seriously, I couldn’t find any fault with Nora, at all!

Fed up of being pushed around by her family – her complete and total BITCH of a mother being the main pusher – we join Nora at the start of a journey that includes some major changes and that will ultimately reveal some haunting secrets.

Nora is my ultimate heroine. She’s intelligent, she’s quirky, she’s sassy and funny, has major backbone, she’s beautiful but real, and man, is she strong. The things we see that she has lived through, would definitely break a lot of people. But not Nora. We watch her blossom from a scared, perfect, controlled girl, into a young woman not afraid to speak her mind, and stick the proverbial middle finger up to the world!

Leo Tate… what a man! Swoon!! I mean, he’s stubborn and pigheaded, and refuses to see what’s right in front of his eyes, but ladies, watch out when he gets started! He’s funny, romantic, super hot and can dirty talk with the best of them!

Admittedly, I did want to just shake some sense into Leo a LOT of the time. But I got him, I understood why he wanted to guard his heart. He’d lost so much before, he probably couldn’t cope with any more loss!

Whilst many of the main characters (Leo, Nora, Sebastian – Leo’s little brother, and Mila – Nora’s best friend), brought a lot of happiness, love and light to the book, there is an underlying darkness to the novel. Something not for the faint of heart. It’s distressing, and sometimes heartbreaking. But in my opinion, the subject matter is handled fantastically. Yes, it brings the dark and scary to the surface, but without it, Nora wouldn’t have been who she was, and wouldn’t have bloomed into the amazing person she became, by the end of the novel.

To sum up… Very Bad Things made me laugh, made me cry, gave me goosebumps, made my pulse race, made me swoon, made me swear, and kept me up late two nights in a row! The love and romance between Leo and Nora is intense, but real, and very believable. Leo, Nora and Sebastian will stay with me for a long time, and I hope that we get to see more of them in the next book of the series! Because seriously. I need more. I want more. I’m not ready to let them go yet!!!

Very Bad Things gets 5 Fabulous, Glittery, Gold Stars from me, and it will most definitely be sitting on my ‘favourites’ shelf too!!!

Amazon UK Buy Link

Amazon.com Buy Link

Add To Your GoodReads List

***Review originally posted at www.nerdgirlofficial.com***

