18716456

Synopsis:

For a thousand years, Chace has searched for a way to break the curse placed on him by a jilted lover. He’s a dragon shifter, one who can’t control when the magic will force him into a different form. He’s already lost everyone he ever cared about a few times over and doesn’t know how much longer he’s meant to suffer.

At his wit’s end, he makes a deal with a mysterious figure that offers him what he wants most – an end to his misery – in exchange for everything that’s his: His life, his power. His heart.

The next day, he meets Skylar, a modern day dragon slayer whose mission is to cage him – or kill him. Sexy, witty and brave, she is the yin to his yang, the woman destined to break the curse, balance his magic and make his broken heart whole.

Except it’s too late. Not only has he sealed his fate, but an innocent one-night-stand with Skylar has dragged her into the middle of a deal with the devil, one she won’t escape, if he can’t convince her that dragon shifters aren’t her enemies.

My Review:

**I received an ARC of this book, in exchange for an honest review**

First off, I have to say ‘Fantasy’ is not my genre of choice, so Charred Heart was a little outside of the box for me! But boy, was I impressed!

Charred Heart had me hooked almost instantly, and kept me captivated through the entire book!

Chase – our loveable dragon, is 1000 years old, and has had enough of losing everyone that’s close to him. He’s moody, he’s brooding and he can sometimes come across a little self-centered. But there’s definitely a lot more to him, and once you get past his brick walls, he can actually be very caring, thoughtful and oh yeah… SUPER FREAKING HOT!!!

Skylar – An awesome name for an awesome character. She’s strong, but vulnerable, feisty, a little mouthy and she definitely gives Chase a run for his money, always giving as good as she gets. I loved her!

There were times I just wanted to bang Chase and Sky’s heads together! They went back and fourth over a few things, a fair bit – some things that to me, seemed so very obvious, and actually had me shouting at the book, on a few occasions!

There was a good mix of action, plot/back-story and romance. At times, I couldn’t read quick enough! Everything just flowed together so well and the multiple elements of mystery and suspense had me awake into the early hours, two nights in a row – desperate to get my answers!

The ending of Charred Hearts had me literally groaning out loud! Although it doesn’t end with a shock and awe moment, it still has the cliffhanger element to it – There is obviously a LOT more of Chase and Skylar’s story to tell! But that’s cool, I just can’t wait to get my hands onto book two, as soon as it’s released!

Thank you, Ms Ford, for opening my eyes to a genre that I would normally avoid!
Who knew dragons could be so sexy?!

4 Stars!!!

Amazon UK Buy Link

Amazon.com Buy Link

Add To Your GoodReads Lists

***Review originally posted at www.nerdgirlofficial.com***

